New Order contribute exclusive track to Michael Shamberg benefit album on Factory Benelux / May 2014

Factory NY



Artist:             Various Artists

Title:                     OF FACTORY NEW YORK

Released:        26 May 2014

Label:              Factory Benelux

Formats:          2xLP / CD  (13 tracks on each)

Cat No:            FBN 55 / FBN 55 CD

Barcode:          2xLP: 708527001707 / CD: 708527001691

Factory Benelux and New Order present Of Factory New York, a unique benefit album released to assist Michael Shamberg, who ran the NYC office of Factory Records during the celebrated label’s Eighties heyday.

Available on CD and double gatefold vinyl formats, Of Factory New York gathers a selection of classic tracks by artists associated with OFNY including the John Robie remix of Yashar by Cabaret Voltaire, Do the Du by A Certain Ratio, Cool As Ice by 52nd Street, Love Tempo by Quando Quango, the Megamix version of Looking From A Hilltop by Section 25 and an exclusive version of Your Silent Face by New Order, recorded live on tour in America in June 1989.

Homegrown American talent featured on the album includes Ike Yard, Thick Pigeon, Konk, Anna Domino and deejay/producer Arthur Baker. The cover art is based on an original 1983 design by Lawrence Weiner, the conceptual artist closely associated with Shamberg and Factory’s Big Apple operation.

Unfortunately in 2006 Michael was struck down with highly debilitating mitochondrial disease. All artists featured on Of Factory New York have donated their work free of charge, Factory Benelux will take no profit, and 100% of net revenues will be paid over to the medical trust which takes care of Michael.

“Michael has been with us from the very start,” explain New Order. “Initially he was in charge of Factory New York, then became creative producer for all our early videos. He brought our attention to the early works of directors such as Kathryn Bigelow, Gina Birch, Robert Breer, Peter Care, Phillipe Decouffle, Jonathan Demme, Robert Frank, Paula Greiff, Robert Longo, Bailie Walsh and William Wegman. Michael is very ill and needs constant medical attention. We want to help him, and played two fundraising shows in 2011. This new Factory New York compilation album will contribute further financial support towards Michael’s ongoing care.”

Vinyl tracklist:

A1. A Certain Ratio  Do the Du

A2. Quando Quango  Love Tempo

A3. 52nd Street  Cool As Ice

B1. Cabaret Voltaire  Yashar (John Robie Remix)

B2. New Order  Your Silent Face (live 1989)

B3. Konk Baby Dee

C1. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)

C2. Streetlife  Act On Instinct

C3. Marcel King  Reach For Love (New York Remix)

D1. Thick Pigeon  Subway

D2. Ike Yard  Kino

D3. Arthur Baker Come On

D4. Anna Domino  Summer (Arthur Baker Remix)

CD tracklist:

1. A Certain Ratio  Do the Du

2. Quando Quango  Love Tempo

3. Konk Baby Dee

4. 52nd Street  Cool As Ice

5. Cabaret Voltaire  Yashar (John Robie Remix)

6. New Order  Your Silent Face (live 1989)

7. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)

8. Streetlife  Act On Instinct

9. Marcel King  Reach For Love (New York Remix)

10. Thick Pigeon  Subway

11. Ike Yard  Kino

12. Arthur Baker Come On

13. Anna Domino  Summer (Arthur Baker Remix)


Many Thanks to James Nice for the information